First salmon of the year by Keith Barry

IFD: Being one of the World’s top mentalists, Keith Barry has a very busy work schedule. When not on stage or TV entertaining the masses Keith loves nothing more than to unwind by fishing for his favourite species salmon and bass. This week He got his season off to an early start so over to Keith….

I went down to fish the river Lee in Cork earlier on in the week. I was hoping for my first salmon of the year. Got there at the crack of dawn and got set up. During the day we had everything from cold wind and rain to bright sunshine and fishing in a t-shirt we had it all. We fished relentlessly through the day without so  much as a touch. Ten hours into the session and after trying many lures and colours, I reverted back to my old favourite, a black flying C. I don’t know what it is about a flying C in black but it has always been the most successful for me. I took a few casts before the lure just stopped dead then took off. After a fantastic fight I netted the fish which weighed in at under 10lb though fought like a 20! The only other take came to my buddy though the fish got off unfortunately…..

IMG_1442

 

About paddykeogh20

We are three anglers who enjoy all aspects of fishing. Whether we are blanking or catching were happiest on the bank or shore. If you like your fishing join us by watching our many trips and as we interview some top anglers along the way.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment