Coalfish off Kinsale

I got a call from Mick Dennehy saying we’re going out for the coalies are you coming? As they say in Jerry McGuire…. You had me at…. alright langer!

I made my way down to Kinsale where Pedro was already on the boat. Also making up the crew that day were some of the most experienced boat anglers in the country. Albie O’ Sullivan the Irish Ling record holder with a lifetime of experience, top charter skipper and good friend Kit Dunne, then Phil Barry and Paul Ross so I was feeling a little out of place to say the least.

We made our way out as everyone made last adjustments and superstitious tweaks to their gear. When we arrived Mick positioned us perfectly for the big tide and bit of wind and soon we were dropping down.

Before I could even get to the bottom I seen Paul and Albie were already into fish. Before my shad could get to the bottom it was inhaled on the way down…. fish on.

Phil Barry with a spec black Jack

With the guys getting their fish to the surface and netted it was two specimen coalies for the first two to drops. I got my fish to the surface and again it was over the specimen weight. 

Paul Ross caught the most species on the day

Phil and Kit were also getting the action but it was all a bit of a blur as we concentrated on our own fishing. Albie then brings up the best so far a clonker of a fish making us all the more eager to get the gear back down to the wreck.

Kit Dunne with a specimen coalfish

Irish Ling record holder Albie O’ Sullivan was into action all day

Next up I’m on again to a decent fish and this turns out to be the best of the day I was absolutely delighted. We were mostly changing between different sized shads and Paul Ross was doing some damage with a tiny sidewinder clocking up quite a few species including megrin.

Myself with a coalie complete with my fly open

Soon it was time for lines up, we had watched sharks attack baits at the surface, sunfish and some whales and to top it off the fishing was top class with ling, pollack, cod, megrim and coalfish. 

A megrim for Paul

Till the next time lads another great trip… 

About paddykeogh20

We are three anglers who enjoy all aspects of fishing. Whether we are blanking or catching were happiest on the bank or shore. If you like your fishing join us by watching our many trips and as we interview some top anglers along the way.....
This entry was posted in Boat fishing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment